Slow the tide, vote YES on 8

I read an article last night that NPR did back in June.  It left me with a sinking feeling.  Someone had mentioned it to me and so I log on and read it.  Kinda funny I think I heard it back in June when it was on air, and had a similar impression at the time.  I am a huge NPR fan.  I am a member and love there programming.  This article was no exception.  A well produced story about the collision of gay rights and religious liberties.  There are actually two stories done within a day of each other.  The one called Gay rights, religious liberties: a three-act story was what I found particular interesting.  Totally worth your time to read.  Basically it talks about how religious groups are losing their religious freedoms to the gay rights movement.  And it is true.  I can’t see all of the way religions are going to be impacted by the gay movement, but impacted they will be.  So ironic when you think why people boarded the May Flower.  I want to be able to worship what and how I want.  I fear how my religious liberties will continue to be impacted over time by the ray rights movement.

The passage of prop 8 will only slow the tide.  I hope slow it significantly.  Slow the tide, vote Yes on 8.

12 Comments

  1. Perry Smith said

    The biggest problem with Prop 8 and similar Props around the country is that they are denial the of rights, by one minority over another. I am not gay, but in a long successful marriage that has produced three children. I have offered my children moral guidance from my perspective, but I have never told them how they should be or how they should express themselves. They like the other 300 million Americans have the right to express themselves and live their own lives without me or ANYONE else dictating to them their moral and life codes.

    Do not set yourself up as a petty dictator. You may discover that it is you they hunting down and denying next time.

    Trust me, read history. Oppressors are always oppressed next.

  2. Jeremy said

    One of our most fervent supporters has agreed to match, dollar for dollar, whatever you and others can donate, up to a total of $1 million. That means that every dollar you give will buy two dollars in advertising time.

    Click below to donate

    https://www.icontribute.us/protectmarriage/initiative/truth-web

  3. busywithconviction said

    I already feel oppressed. I am sure I will continue to feel oppressed as well.

  4. beetlebabee said

    Prop 8 can be the springboard for other states and the nation. As California goes, so goes the nation. Don’t give up before the fight. The nation is behind us on this one. We need to take this fight to the national level. California is the door to both paths.

    Protect our kids. Vote YES on Proposition 8

    Download Gay Day information flyer for parents of school age children and grandchildren here: http://beetlebabee.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/pacificjustice_layout.pdf

    I printed these up and passed them around my neighborhood. Parents need to know!

  5. Matt A. said

    I already feel oppressed. I am sure I will continue to feel oppressed as well.

    That’s hilarious.

  6. busywithconviction said

    Matt–
    The reality is that religious freedoms are losing out to the gay rights movements. In case you haven’t gather yet, I am religious!!! And as result I feel the oppression that has arisen form the gay rights movements. This feeling comes from more than Prop 8. Did you read the NPR article? If not do so, and think about it from a religious organizations prospective.

  7. keltic said

    ummm, what makes you think that gay people aren’t religious?

    I’m a music director at a church.

    I recently filled in as a layspeaker for our congregation:

    http://keltic.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/todays-sermon-creation-god-starts-it-all-off-with-a-big-bang/

    So, I’m religious, Christian, and have even studied religion as a minor in college. Yet, somehow, I seem to be able to disagree with nearly everything you’ve been saying here bwc.

  8. busywithconviction said

    Keltic, I am not sure I know which parts you disagree with. The NPR story, my statement of being religious, the fact Matt find me hilarious….

  9. keltic said

    Let me help you then, afterall, I am also an elementary school teacher.

    You make 2 statements that, taken together, imply that gay people are not religious: In case you haven’t gather [sic] yet, I am religious!!! And as result I feel the oppression that has arisen form [sic] the gay rights movements.

    My previous comment is a refutation of that implication. As a matter of fact, there are plenty of gay christians who are more than just religious, we actually examine the scriptures and attempt to live the lives that Christ has called us to live.

  10. Matt A. said

    If you haven’t picked up on it, I’m religious too. Active in my church every week. Regularly presenting at churches in the area. Seven Christmas dates booked, with one more possible date. Being gay doesn’t make one unable to be a Christian, no matter what Dobson tells you.

    As for hilarious, yes it is. I did read the article, and it’s not the first time I’ve seen those cases. The courts were right in all of them, and none of it amounts to ‘oppression’.

    The pavilion was run not by the Methodist Church proper, but by a company connected to that church. The pavilion was open to everyone, Christian or not, and as the attorney said, they can’t decide that The Gays can’t use it any more than they can decide that The Coloreds can’t use it.

    The wedding photographer case has nothing to do with religious freedom. Again, you can’t decide not to service a specific group of people in regard to weddings, just as the Baptist garbage man can’t decide not to pick up my trash because I drink Pabst Blue Ribbon.

    That aside, though, it’s amazing to me that you think that any of this even approaches the definition of religious oppression. Let’s look at REAL oppression, shall we?

    * At least 13,000 Christians are fleeing their homes in Iraq RIGHT NOW because they’ve been threatened with death for being Christians.

    * In Kazakstan, Christians are regularly arrested and beaten (if not worse) because they were involved in illegal worship services.

    * In China, Shi Weihan is currently being held with no contact to his family because he (allegedly; he denies it) printed and sold Bibles. This is happening RIGHT NOW.

    Meanwhile, you own multiple copies of the Bible, you can attend worship services at any number of denominations in broad daylight without worrying about being arrested, and you don’t get death threats because there’s a cross on your wall. You have access to Christian radio stations, whole stores that sell nothing but Christian paraphernalia, and your school has a chapter of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

    So don’t cheapen actual oppression by claiming it because your exact RELIGIOUS definition of marriage isn’t recognized by the NON-RELIGIOUS government.

  11. busywithconviction said

    By stating I was religious in no way was saying homosexuals aren’t. Whether you agree with it or not MANY religions out there think that acting out on ones homosexual desires is a sin and wrong. Please live Christlike lives. He said to be tolerant… that whole casing the first stone thing. I will be tolerant of your view and you can be tolerant of mine.

    This moral code is not a popular stance to take among many in our society. So even if it is not as extreme as what is happening other places in the world, that doesn’t mean the oppression doesn’t exist.

  12. busywithconviction said

    I am working to the get the facts out. Bottom line I think that no on prop 8 has an agenda that the majority of Californian’s would oppose if they knew about it. This post on the blog California Prop 8 sums it up. If you win you won’t win by much and that means lots of people agree with prop 8.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Comments are closed.

